Congratulations to Recently Funded Faculty

June 5, 2018

In 2017, Dr. Robert Gregg received funding from the National Science Foundation in the amount of $500,000 for his research investigating control powered prosthetic and orthotic (P&O) devices for lower-limb amputees and stroke survivors.

In 2016, the National Institute of Health awarded Dr. Duane Winkler $1,333,409 for his research in understanding how copper ions are distributed to an enzyme in amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS).

In 2017, Dr. Midori Kitagawa received an award of $1,018,429 for her research on computer-based learning programs that teach physics to high school student and require no prior knowledge of coding.

National Institutes of Health awarded Dr. Amy Pinkham with $420,750 for her research in 2017 regarding paranoia and neurobehaviorial mechanism identification for paranoid ideation.

In 2017, Dr. Heather Hayenga received an award of $231,000 from the American Heart Association for her research on Predicting Arterial Changes During Atherogenesis: An Agent-Based Modeling Approach.

Dr. Taylor Ware was awarded $175,711 from the National Science Foundation in 2017  for his collaborative research on Microfabrication and Self-Assembly of Shape Changing Hydrogels with Chromonic Liquid Crystalline Order.

In 2017, Cersci Therapeutics granted Dr. Ted Price $48,020 for his research on SBIR: Novel AMPK Activators for the Treatment of Neuropathic Pain.

Dr. Alvaro Cardenas received $80,000 from the US Air Force for Data-Driven Reconfiguration of Dynamical Systems Under Attack in 2017.

Recent Posts

Q&A with Dr. Kantarcioglu

March 6th

We are surrounded by an incredible expanse of data, created at an exponential rate and offered on a multitude of electronic devices; a wealth of… read more

R.O.A.D. to DC: Dr. Ruths

February 27th

Dr. Justin Ruths first joined UT Dallas as an Assistant Professor in 2016 after working for five years as a faculty member at the Singapore… read more

Patents: An Introduction and Exploration

January 14th

Introduction Patent law has always been fascinating to me. As I have advanced in my educational career at UT Dallas, from a biology undergraduate to… read more