Posts in Author: Amira Nickerson

October 26th, 2021

Comet Corner Series: Centering Humanity in Medicine

The Comet Corner Series, created by the UT Dallas Office of Research and Innovation and in partnership with the schools across our campus, hosts chats with some of our notable alumni to hear how they have taken their research out into the world and made #UTDResearchImpact. The Humanities and Medical Sciences are naturally and deeply …read more

October 21st, 2021

UT Dallas at Fed Supernova

On September 28th and 29th, UT Dallas President Richard Benson led a delegation to Fed Supernova in Austin, Texas. Organized by Capital Factory, this event brought together hundreds of Department of Defense (DOD), corporate, and academic representatives to collaborate in improving our national defense. Over 1,000 more attended virtually. The US Department of Defense and its …read more

October 18th, 2021

NSF CAREER Spotlight Series – Dr. Giacomo Valerio Iungo

Ever wonder what it takes to secure National Science Foundation (NSF) CAREER funding? In this NSF Spotlight Series session, Dr. Giacomo Valerio Iungo, Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering and NSF CAREER Awardee, shares the importance of shaping good scientific ideas in a compelling proposal, including thorough management in the preparation of the required material.

October 8th, 2021

Dr. Tyler Holt Summers awarded $500,000 from NSF

Dr. Tyler Holt Summers received $500,000 from the National Science Foundation (NSF) for his research on CAREER: Data-Driven Control of Dynamical Networks: Robustness, Risk, and Network Architectures. Dr. Summers will build a framework for analysis and design of data-driven control algorithms and architectures for dynamical networks. The application focus will be on autonomous energy grids …read more

October 1st, 2021

Dr. Jie Zhang Receives Over $800,000 from ONR

The Office of Naval Research awarded Dr. Jie Zhang $808,762 for his research on Learning on Graphs for Resilience Decision-Support in Real-World Networks. This project is to develop a unified “learning on graphs” framework that enables generation of robust, scalable, and generalizable combinatorial policies over graphs, to support real-time decision-making for recovery of disrupted real-world networks. The following integrative research activities …read more

September 28th, 2021

Research 411 Talk Show: Scaffolded Training Environment for Physics Programming (STEPP)

Instead of passively listening to lectures, our program offers a more dynamic and interactive approach, resulting in students having more time to conduct experiments. A Scaffolded Training Environment for Physics Programming (STEPP) uses the arts to guide students as they create simulations that turn abstract theory into observable phenomena. A University of Texas at Dallas …read more

September 22nd, 2021

Lab to Launch Series: Winning UTD’s 2020 Big Idea Competition

Are you ready to launch your research to market? Is it time to apply for a patent or learn more about licensing options? Join UT Dallas faculty as they share the story of how they successfully turned their research and innovation into a commercialization opportunity. In this session, Dr. Robert L. Rennaker II, Medical Founding …read more

September 16th, 2021

Making Lemonade Out of Lemons

Many grant proposals do not get funded on the first try. Revising a proposal for resubmission is often the key to being awarded. In this webinar, Hanover Grants Consultant Melissa Cornish discusses the best approach to proposal resubmission and shares key strategies for success. The session includes General strategies for navigating the resubmission process effectively …read more

September 16th, 2021

NSF CAREER Spotlight: Dr. Anthony Cummings

In this video, Dr. Cummings provides an overview into the process followed for developing his CAREER proposal. He provides insights into how he developed his CAREER outline and trajectory, the steps he took to understand what is required in the CAREER proposal, and the networks he developed along the way. Dr. Anthony R. Cummings is …read more